• Such A Fun Read
  • Posts
  • The One Where I Rank the Movies in the DC Extended Universe

The One Where I Rank the Movies in the DC Extended Universe

Just ranking movies and hopefully not pissing off the internet

Remember the good old days? When every movie wasn’t trying to be in a universe? Yes, I may sound like a “get off my lawn” grandpa and you might be right.

After The Flash premiering this week, we are 1(?) movie away from the current DC extended universe being over and James Gunn’s story beginning. I’m counting Aquaman 2 as the movie left, but maybe Blue Beetle? Although I heard he’s going to be part of the new DC Universe. I don’t know. I’m just here to watch movies.

the walking dead comic book

Now with this DC extended universe soon coming to a close, I thought I would give my rankings of these movies. There are a total of 14 and I’ve realized I’m mixed on a lot of them. Don’t worry though. Even if your fave is at the bottom, or close to the bottom, none of them are as bad as Morbius. Luckily, that is a Sony Marvel movie so I don’t have to rank it here.

I’m including Zach Snyder’s Justice League in this ranking. Wikipedia seems to include it as well so, let’s just get started. And I definitely want to know what your top 5 are.

We will start at the bottom:

  1. Justice League (theatrical version). This movie is this low because it could have been better. I actually don’t mind this one, but it does feel rather generic. If audiences had seen this movie without seeing any other comic book movie, they might like it. Other comic book movies exist though.

  1. Black Adam. I actually did not like The Rock in this role. I didn’t like his acting either. Wasn’t a fan. And I’m over the “he’s not a villain but he really is but let’s make him a hero instead” schtick. Don’t get me started when a certain person shows up as Superman in the end credits and the John Williams’ theme started to play. I actually whispered loudly “that’s not his music!”. Yes, that is Superman’s theme, but it is not his Superman theme! His version fits him quite nicely! I didn’t say any names so that isn’t a spoiler.

  1. Aquaman. This might be surprising. This is the one movie in this universe that made over a billion dollars. I’m possibly in the minority here. The fact that this isn’t at the bottom is actually surprising to me. I just do not like this movie. I didn’t like the story. I’ve tried to rewatch it to see if my mind has changed on this movie, but it hasn’t.

  1. Suicide Squad. I just remember having fun in the theater watching this. I liked the performances by Will Smith and Margot Robbie quite a bit.

  1. The Suicide Squad. I think this movie is a better movie than Suicide Squad (I think the title is ridiculous though since it is pretty much the same as the movie that came out a few years earlier). I don’t have much else to say about these suicide squad movies. These are in the meh category for me.

  1. The Flash. This movie was very hyped going into it. I went to the theater with rather low expectations and I think it met them? Another meh movie for me. The visual effects seemed rough. The story was okay. The performances were fine. It is questionable to me to bring back elements of Man of Steel when that movie was mixed with audiences to begin with. Oh and bringing back a certain actor (I won’t spoil this one since it just came out) to remind me that a certain movie exist, not cool. There seemed to be a lot of nostalgia in this movie just for nostalgia purposes and not to actually benefit the story.

  1. Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice. I’ve seen this movie so many times trying to figure out how I feel about it. Both the theatrical and extended (or ultimate?) cut. I don’t hate it. It definitely didn’t meet the hype that the comic-con trailer gave me though. It was one of the best trailers I’ve ever seen. Maybe I’ll re-watch the movie one day.

  1. Wonder Woman 1984. I remember watching this on Christmas Day when it came out. I also remember enjoying it. I also don’t believe I’ve watched it since. I re-watch movies all the time. I must not have liked it as much as I thought. I love Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman though. Guess I’ll do a double feature with my re-watch of BvS.

  1. Zach Snyder’s Justice League. I remember watching this movie and realizing how surprised I was that I actually enjoyed it. It is too long though. But definitely a better version than the theatrical cut. If you’ve seen the theatrical cut, but you haven’t watched this one, you should give it a go.

  1. Shazam! Fury of the Gods. I didn’t get a chance to go see this in theaters but I watched it recently on Max and it was enjoyable. It was a fun time. Not as good as the first, but I had fun watching it. (Did I say fun enough?")

  1. Birds of Prey. Speaking of fun, I enjoy this movie quite a bit. I just really like Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn. And seeing Rosie Perez again was great.

  1. Shazam! A lot of heart was in this movie. The characters are fun (I tried to think of a different word to use here, but I just don’t want to.) The story worked for me. Left the theater wanting to see more of these characters.

  1. Man of Steel. I mentioned earlier that this movie was mixed with audiences, but not me. I quite enjoy this movie. The only thing missing for me here was Clark Kent and Superman feeling different. This movie didn’t give us that, or try, but I prefer that take on Superman. Still such a good movie!

  1. Wonder Woman. One of my favorite origin stories. So much heart. Gal Gadot is a great Wonder Woman and Diana Prince. I loved the callbacks to the 1978 Superman movie. And I will always think about this YouTube video by Just Write for why this movie is #1 on my list.

Talk soon!

Cherie

Reply

or to participate.