The Force is Strong With This One

Let's celebrate Star Wars day!

Stormtrooper minifigure walking on the sand

May the 4th by with you!

This week is a very special week. May the 4th is this week! 

If you aren’t aware of what May the 4th is, it is Star Wars Day! A great day to celebrate Star Wars. For some, that could be everyday? And by some I mean me.

Let’s look at some ways to celebrate May the 4th:

  • Do a rewatch. You can rewatch one of the trilogies, all of the trilogies, the tv shows, pick a movie from each trilogy and watch them.

  • Watch others watch Star Wars for the first time. This may sound weird, but I promise it isn’t. There are many people discovering Star Wars for the first time on YouTube. You can see if their reaction is similar to yours.

  • Read one of the books. There are a number of books in the Star Wars universe. My recommendation is Lost Stars by Claudia Gray. Possibly because it is one of the few Star Wars books I’ve read, but it is a good one. It’s set during the events of the original trilogy following new characters.

  • Play a video game. Star Wars Jedi Survivor was released last week. There are also other ones that can get you back into the galaxy.

Star Wars is my favorite franchise. I will forever appreciate George Lucas for creating this universe. I’d highly recommend the podcast Blockbuster season 1 to hear how George Lucas got Star Wars made.

News from Other Universes I Enjoy:

  • The new trailer for The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes was released. I’ve decided to do a Hunger Games trilogy re-read before I finally get to that book. But I will have it read before the movie comes out in November.

  • There will apparently be a Twilight tv series. Some might be asking “why would they do that?” Twilight has gotten a lot of criticism in the past. Some deserving and others not. It is a billion dollar franchise and Hollywood seems to prefer to go to what’s been proven instead of finding something new.

  • Speaking of remaking something proven, Harry Potter is also getting a tv show. Is it weird that my first thought when hearing about this was wondering why we aren’t getting a movie trilogy set in the Game of Thrones world? If Harry Potter can go to tv, why can’t A Song of Ice and Fire go to the movies?

Book of the Week:

The Blood Trials by N.E. Davenport

A blend of fantasy and science fiction. The first book in an action packed duology. Follows a young woman who must survive deadly trials in a racist and misogynistic society to become an elite warrior. Also my favorite book of 2022. Highly recommend.

Amazon | Bookshop.org

May the force be with you.

- Cherie

Reply

or to participate.