New Hunger Games & Books You Should Read this Summer

I heard news about a new Hunger Games book and movie this week (AP), but I didn’t look into things until now. It is true! Sunrise on the Reaping by Suzanne Collins will be released on March 18, 2025. I finally read The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes before that movie came out. It was sitting on my shelf for a few years before I got to it, and I quite enjoyed it.

It told us the story of President Snow’s “humble” beginnings, how he became the evil bastard we knew him to be, and how they got the people of Panem to actually care about the Hunger Games.

Of course, we are getting a movie version of it. That has already been announced: November 20, 2026. I guess I’ll be going to see that as well. The plan is to read the book way before the movie comes out.

So far, what we know about this book:

  • Will take place during the 50th Hunger Games 

  • This will be the second quarter quell

  • Haymitch Abernathy was part of this one

I also recently read the original Hunger Games to refresh my memory. If you need a refresher on that, I made a video about it.

Summer Reading List

There are quite a few summer reading lists out there. I thought I’d curate a few of them.

  • 9 Must-Read Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books Releasing in June 2024 (IGN)

  • The Most Anticipated Fantasy Books of Summer 2024 (Paste Magazine)

  • AOL.com’s best new books to read this summer (AOL)

  • Town & Country’s books to read this summer (T&C)

  • NPR’s Summer books to look forward to (NPR)

  • Browse these books to make the ultimate summer 2024 reading list (Today Show YouTube)

  • 10 Books That Deserve A Spot In Your Summer Beach Bag (Essence)

Book News Around the Web

  • Goodreads most read books of 2024 so far (Goodreads)

  • 2023 Nebula Awards Winners Announced (Locus Online)

  • 10 Book Trilogies That Peaked With The First Book (ScreenRant)

  • Low Stakes (Or No Stakes) Fantasy for Some Summer Relaxation (Destructoid)

  • Adaptation of Eruption by Michael Crichton gets director (MovieWeb)

  • The Ultimate YA Guide: a Book Recommendation for Every Genre (The Teen Mag)

Behind the Scenes

  • Last week, I uploaded a vlog to my YouTube channel! It had been a while since I made a vlog, so it was definitely a “re-learning” curve. I’m working on one right now where I’m reading sequels to catch up on some of the series I’m in the middle of reading.

  • A new episode of the podcast should be up soon. I swear I have not forgotten. Just have to finish editing the episode.

Reply

or to participate.