Let's Revisit Summer Movies 🍿

Relive the Blockbusters That Made Waves in Years Gone By!

person watching movie

Summer movie season is upon us!

Are you excited? I know I am. I may hibernate in the fall/winter/spring and sporadically make my way to the theater, but when the summer movie season begins, I am very much there.

My perfect moviegoing time is Saturday afternoons and sitting in the theater with a Icee (not to be confused with a slushie since they are different). It reminds me of growing up when, as a fam, we went down to Showcase Cinemas in Springdale. I remember seeing Batman and The Little Mermaid there. And it seems I have a chance to see both of those characters again this summer.

Summer movie season has been starting the first weekend in May for years, but Memorial Day weekend still feels like when it should begin. I shouldn’t complain. Just more blockbusters for me to watch.

Since I’m being nostalgic about summer movies, let’s take it back and look at some previous top movies during the summer. We will start 40 years ago.

Let’s also play a game. How many of these have you’ve seen?

My total:1983 - 41993 - 72003 - 82013 - 8

Summer ‘83:

Summer ‘93:

Summer ‘03:

Summer ‘13:

Fun fact: I still have yet to see Finding Nemo. I don’t know why either. Maybe I’ll watch it this year. Please don’t hold me to that though.

More on the Movies:

  • Of course I have to share a Summer 2023 Movie Guide. It would feel weird if I didn’t.

  • And to even get you more excited for the movies this summer, here are some trailers for some of them:

    • Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse - trailer

    • Oppenheimer - trailer

    • The Little Mermaid - trailer

    • Transformers: Rise of the Beasts - trailer

    • Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny - trailer

Update on me:

I’m back on YouTube!

I am finally back to posting videos on YouTube. It has been so long since I’ve done so and I’m just excited to be back. I would appreciate it if you would subscribe to the channel if you haven’t already. There will be weekly book related content there. Like this!

Book of the Week:

The year is 1988. High school sophomores Abby and Gretchen have been best friends since fourth grade. But after an evening of skinny-dipping goes disastrously wrong, Gretchen begins to act…different. She’s moody. She’s irritable. And bizarre incidents keep happening whenever she’s nearby. Abby’s investigation leads her to some startling discoveries—and by the time their story reaches its terrifying conclusion, the fate of Abby and Gretchen will be determined by a single question: Is their friendship powerful enough to beat the devil?

Amazon | Bookshop.org

Also the book cover is amazing! And it seems to fit with the theme of Summer Blockbusters.

Talk soon!

Cherie

Reply

or to participate.