Dealing with a book slump is hard

navigating a book slump, anticipated new releases, and more

Hi, good people!

The book slump is happening right now. Outside of my A Discovery of Witches chapter reads, I’ve started a couple of other books but have yet to finish them.

Hopefully, that changes soon, but I’m not going to force anything. The reading will happen when the reading happens.

I did start So Let Them Burn by Kamilah Cole. We’ll see if I can finish it before the next newsletter.

If you have any tips for dealing with a book slump, I’m all ears.

Unimpressed Sea GIF by SpongeBob SquarePants

Gif by spongebob on Giphy

My slump won’t stop me from being excited about some upcoming new releases though.

Book News

Mistborn is getting adapted (yay!), and people are really excited about it. (Screenrant)

Netflix is adapting the Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman with a pretty impressive cast. (Shortlist)

CBR has ranked their 10 best soft Science Fiction movies. Do you agree? (CBR)

12 Historical fiction books that bring lesser-known eras to life (Times Now)

New Podcast Episode

A new episode of Such A Fun Read went up on Thursday. This week, we covered chapters 17 - 22 of A Discovery of Witches. We’re about halfway through!

In this week’s episode, we discussed Diana Bishop and her evolving powers and met a new vampire just trying to get in the way of the happiness of others.

I also contemplated whether or not I would become a vampire after reading:

Imagine what you’d have if you’d been buying books for centuries.

Deborah Harkness

Reply

or to participate.