A Weekend for Movies

I finally made it back to the movie theater this weekend. I saw Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga yesterday, and it was fantastic. I highly, HIGHLY, recommend it. I think it is my favorite movie I’ve seen this year so far. And you do not have to have seen Mad Max Fury Road to enjoy and understand this one. Take that from someone who still has not seen Mad Max Fury Road. I know, I KNOW, I’m working on that. 

This movie got me thinking about all the movies I enjoy watching over Memorial Day weekend. I’m curious if you feel the same. 

It is a different type of weekend than July 4th. This weekend used to kick the summer movie season off. I know this has been moved to earlier in the year, sometimes the first week of March or the first week of April. It really depends on what movie they release. But for me, it will always be Memorial Day weekend.

Here are Perfect Movies to Watch During Memorial Day Weekend

  • Star Wars Saga

  • Pirates of the Caribbean franchise

  • Twister

  • Indiana Jones franchise

  • Bad Boys franchise

  • Guardians of the Galaxy franchise

  • Transformers franchise (why not! lol)

  • Friday the 13th franchise

Currently Reading

I’m almost finished reading Powerless by Lauren Roberts. I’m enjoying myself. We’ll see how it ends to see if I want to continue with the series. It is a mix of Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and I enjoyed both of those. 

I’m not sure what I will read next. Here are some of the books I’ve added to my bookshelves recently. I might pick up one of these:

  1. The Poisons We Drink by Bethany Baptiste

  2. Five Broken Blades by Mai Corland

  3. Heartless Hunter by Kristen Ciccarelli

  4. Where Sleeping Girls Lie by Faridah Abike-Iyimide

  5. One Dark Window by Rachel Gillig

Book News From Around the Web

  • The Biggest Changes Bridgerton Season 3 Made From the Books (E! Online)

  • Turning Harry Styles Fanfic Into Movies Has Become Serious Business (Collider)

  • Joe Abercrombie's New Fantasy Novel The Devils Gets Cover and Release Month! (Winter is Coming)

  • PEOPLE’s Most-Anticipated Summer Reading List (People)

  • The Hobbit: Rare first edition fetches £31k at auction (BBC)

  • 52 New YA Books to Keep Teens (and Adults!) Reading All Summer Long (Goodreads)

  • 12 Romance Books Headed for the Big Screen (CBR)

  • Star-Crossed: 8 Fantasy Books With Forbidden Romance (Book Riot)

  • 10 Fantasy Books With Real-World Settings That Actually Make Sense (Screen Rant)

  • 'Harry Potter' TV Series Due To Hit Max In 2026: Everything We Know (Deadline)

Behind the scenes

I am working on the podcast. I got distracted with other things, but a new episode should be released soon. We need to finish up our discussion of A Discovery of Witches. 

There might also be a vlog coming out soon. So stay tuned to that.

Reply

or to participate.